The Walking Dead Episode Order

The Walking Dead took the world by storm when it first launched, eventually becoming the most watched work of fiction on television. While the show differs from the comics in some ways, it still has its own brand of canon. This is the Walking Dead episode order timeline.

What’s on The Walking Dead Episode Order?

This unofficial The Walking Dead episode order takes all of the episodes from The Walking Dead, Fear the Walking Dead, and various webisodes and places them in chronological order. This timeline also includes the Survival Instincts video game. Note: The Walking Dead video games by Telltale Games are not included in this timeline, since they are part of the comics canon, not the television canon.

Some of the chronology is not entirely clear. Since Rick was asleep for the first few weeks after the outbreak, there are several seasons of Fear the Walking Dead that take place before the main show. Then there are multiple time jumps in both shows that make chronology difficult, but we’ve tried to set it up as best we can.

This timeline is for the television show and its associated canon only. For those who want the comics, visit our other Walking Dead timeline. As with our other timelines, don’t forget to let us know if there’s an error that needs fixing. Thank you!

6 thoughts on “The Walking Dead Episode Order”

  1. Fear the Walking Dead Season 4 doesn’t take place at the same time as The Walking Dead Season 8, well the flashbacks in the Season might but the present scenes are after All Out War cuz of Morgan crossing over

  2. For the easiest viewing experience I recommend
    FTWD Season 1-3
    TWD Season 1-8
    FTWD season 4-5
    (Maybe FTWD season 6 could come before or after season 9 we really don’t know yet)
    TWD Season 9 Ep. 1-5
    (Likely the rest of FTWD)
    TWD Season 9 ep. 6-16
    TWD Season 10

    That’s all the stuff that I could fit into the timeline without making just random guesses. We don’t know if the Rick Grimes movies will take place before or after the time jump. TWD World Beyond is supposedly going to take place right after the season 10 finale but that’s not confirmed. The weird spinoff games aren’t really important to anything (plus the fact that there not that good) same goes for the webisodes

  3. According to the wikia this is the order:

    1) Fear The Walking Dead Season 1-3
    2) The Walking Dead Season 1-8
    3) Fear The Walking Dead season 4-6
    4) The Walking Dead Season 9 Ep. 1-5
    5) The Walking Dead World Beyond Season 1
    6) The Walking Dead Season 9 ep. 6-16
    7) The Walking Dead Season 10


Leave a Comment