Xanth Reading Order

xanth reading order banner art

In what may turn out to be one of the longest fantasy series in recorded history, we present to you the Xanth reading order.

What’s on the Xanth Reading Order?

The Xanth reading order takes all of the Xanth books, by Piers Anthony, and places them in chronological order. Thankfully, despite the fact that there are over 40 books in the series, the timeline is relatively simple, with each book coming chronologically after the next and no short stories or random adaptations to other mediums to worry about.

All of the books were written in order, and there are no tie-in short stories or other works of media. That makes our job a lot easier. Regardless, it can be hard to know where to start with the number of Xanth books out there, so we hope that this timeline helps you grasp everything you need. This series is ongoing, so you will likely see more in the future. Check back for more updates.

As with many of our series, we recommend you start this one at the beginning.

If you liked this timeline, you might enjoy some of our others, such as the Dragonriders of Pern timeline. And if you see anything that needs to be added or changed, please let us know!

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1A Spell for ChameleonNovelPiers Anthony1977-09-01Xanth
2The Source of MagicNovelPiers Anthony1979-02-01Xanth
3Castle RoognaNovelPiers Anthony1979-07-01Xanth
4Centaur AisleNovelPiers Anthony1982-01-01Xanth
5Ogre, OgreNovelPiers Anthony1982-10-01Xanth
6Night MareNovelPiers Anthony1983-01-01Xanth
7Dragon on a PedestalNovelPiers Anthony1983-10-01Xanth
8Crewel Lye: A Caustic YarnNovelPiers Anthony1984-12-12Xanth
9Golem in the GearsNovelPiers Anthony1986-02-01Xanth
10Vale of the VoleNovelPiers Anthony1987-01-01Xanth
11Heaven CentNovelPiers Anthony1988-10-01Xanth
12Man from MundaniaNovelPiers Anthony1989-10-01Xanth
Isle of ViewNovelPiers Anthony1990-10-01Xanth
Question QuestNovelPiers Anthony1991-10-01Xanth
The Color of Her PantiesNovelPiers Anthony1992-09-01Xanth
16Demons Don't DreamNovelPiers Anthony1993-02-01Xanth
17Harpy ThymeNovelPiers Anthony1994-01-01Xanth
18Geis of the GargoyleNovelPiers Anthony1995-02-01Xanth
19Roc and a Hard PlaceNovelPiers Anthony1995-10-01Xanth
20Yon Ill WindNovelPiers Anthony1996-01-01Xanth
21Faun & GamesNovelPiers Anthony1997-10-01Xanth
22Zombie LoverNovelPiers Anthony1998-01-01Xanth
23Xone of ContentionNovelPiers Anthony1999-10-01Xanth
24The DastardNovelPiers Anthony2000-10-01Xanth
25Swell FoopNovelPiers Anthony2001-10-01Xanth
26Up in a HeavalNovelPiers Anthony2002-10-01Xanth
27Cube RouteNovelPiers Anthony2003-10-01Xanth
28Currant EventsNovelPiers Anthony2004-10-01Xanth
29Pet PeeveNovelPiers Anthony2005-01-01Xanth
30Stork NakedNovelPiers Anthony2006-01-01Xanth
31Air ApparentNovelPiers Anthony2007-10-16Xanth
32Two to the FifthNovelPiers Anthony2008-10-16Xanth
33Jumper CableNovelPiers Anthony2009-10-01Xanth
34Knot GneissNovelPiers Anthony2010-10-12Xanth
35Well-Tempered ClavicleNovelPiers Anthony2011-11-22Xanth
36Luck of the DrawNovelPiers Anthony2012-12-01Xanth
37Esrever DoomNovelPiers Anthony2013-10-22Xanth
38Board StiffNovelPiers Anthony2014-01-06Xanth
39Five PortraitsNovelPiers Anthony2015-01-20Xanth
40Isis OrbNovelPiers Anthony2016-10-18Xanth
41Ghost Writer in the SkyNovelPiers Anthony2017-04-18Xanth
42Fire SailNovelPiers Anthony2019-11-05Xanth
43Jest RightNovelPiers Anthony2020-07-14Xanth