The Walking Dead Timeline (Comics)

walking dead comics reading order banner art

Before the hugely successful television show, there was the hugely successful comic-book series. This Walking Dead timeline brings together that complete comic list and adds other canonical stories within the comics universe, such as the Telltale video games.

What’s on the Walking Dead Timeline?

This unofficial The Walking Dead timeline includes everything in the Walking Dead comics canon. This includes the comics, a few books about the infamous Governor, and the Telltale Games video games based on the series.

It does not include the television show based on the comics, since the show often deviates (sometimes substantially) from the overall comic storyline. It also does not include the television spin-offs. For a full timeline of the television canon, visit our other timeline. As with our other timelines, don’t forget to let us know if there’s an error in the chronology or something that should be added/taken away. Thank you, and we hope you enjoy!

Where to Start?

The best place to start here is with the first comic volume. Keep in mind that there are also omnibuses of the comics that might make it easier and cheaper to read each issue. That being said, the games are also fantastic works of storytelling, and do not require knowledge from the comic.

In short, you can follow the timeline here pretty much in chronological order and you should be good to go.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthorDateSeriesNotes
1The Walking Dead Vol. 1: Days Gone ByeGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2004-05-12The Walking Dead
2The Walking Dead: Season 1GameSean Ainsworth, Nick Herman, Dennis Lenart, Eric Parsons, Jake Rodkin, Sean Vanaman2012-04-24The Walking Dead
3Rise of the GovernorNovelRobert Kirkman, Jay Bonansinga2011-10-11The Walking Dead
4Just Another Day at the OfficeShort StoryRobert Kirkman, Jay Bonansinga2012-12-08The Walking Dead
5The Walking Dead Vol. 2: Miles Behind UsGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2004-11-24The Walking Dead
6The Walking Dead: Season 2GameDennis Lenart, Eric Parsons, Graham Ross, Jason Latino, Sean Ainsworth2013-12-17The Walking Dead
7The Walking Dead Vol. 3: Safety Behind BarsGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2005-05-18The Walking Dead
8The Road to WoodburyNovelRobert Kirkman, Jay Bonansinga2012-10-16The Walking Dead
9TyphoonNovelWesley Chu2019-10-01The Walking Dead
10The Walking Dead Vol. 4: The Heart's DesireGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman, Charles Adlard2005-11-30The Walking Dead
11The Walking Dead Vol. 5: The Best DefenseGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2006-09-27The Walking Dead
12The Walking Dead Vol. 6: This Sorrowful LifeGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2007-04-11The Walking Dead
13The Walking Dead Vol. 7: The Calm BeforeGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2007-09-26The Walking Dead
14The Fall of the Governor, Part 1NovelRobert Kirkman, Jay Bonansinga2013-10-08The Walking Dead
15The Walking Dead Vol. 8: Made to SufferGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2008-06-25The Walking Dead
16The Fall of the Governor, Part 2NovelRobert Kirkman, Jay Bonansinga2014-03-13The Walking Dead
17The Walking Dead Vol. 9: Here We RemainGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2009-01-21The Walking Dead
18The Walking Dead Vol. 10: What We BecomeGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2009-08-12The Walking Dead
19DescentNovelJay Bonansinga2014-10-14The Walking Dead
20The Walking Dead Vol. 11: Fear the HuntersGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2010-01-06The Walking Dead
21The Walking Dead Vol. 12: Life Among ThemGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2010-08-03The Walking Dead
22InvasionNovelJay Bonansinga2015-10-06The Walking Dead
23The Walking Dead Vol. 13: Too Far GoneGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2010-11-23The Walking Dead
24The Walking Dead Vol. 14: No Way OutGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2011-06-22The Walking Dead
25Search and DestroyNovelJay Bonansinga2016-10-18The Walking Dead
26The Walking Dead: A New FrontierGameJason Latino, Rebekah Gamin Arcovitch, Chris Rebbert, Chris Rieser, Jason Pyke2016-12-20The Walking Dead
27The Walking Dead Vol. 15: We Find OurselvesGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2011-12-27The Walking Dead
28The Walking Dead Vol. 16: A Larger WorldGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2012-06-06The Walking Dead
29Return to WoodburyNovelJay Bonansinga2017-10-17The Walking Dead
30The Walking Dead Vol. 17: Something to FearGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2012-11-21The Walking Dead
31The Walking Dead Vol. 18: What Comes AfterGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2013-06-18The Walking Dead
32The Walking Dead Vol. 19: March to WarGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2013-11-13The Walking Dead
33The Walking Dead Vol. 20: All Out War, Part 1Graphic NovelRobert Kirkman2014-03-11The Walking Dead
34The Walking Dead Vol. 21: All Out War, Part 2Graphic NovelRobert Kirkman2014-07-29The Walking Dead
35The Walking Dead Vol. 22: A New BeginningGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2014-11-05The Walking Dead
36The Walking Dead: MichonneGameKent Mudle, Sean Manning, Jason Latino2016-02-23The Walking Dead
37The Walking Dead Vol. 23: Whispers Into ScreamsGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2015-05-12The Walking Dead
38The Walking Dead Vol. 24: Life and DeathGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2015-08-26The Walking Dead
39The Walking Dead Vol. 25: No Turning BackGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2016-04-05The Walking Dead
40The Walking Dead Vol. 26: Call to ArmsGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2016-09-14The Walking Dead
41The Walking Dead Vol. 27: The Whisperer WarGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2017-03-07The Walking Dead
42The Walking Dead Vol. 28: A Certain DoomGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2017-10-03The Walking Dead
43The Walking Dead Vol. 29: Lines We CrossGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2018-03-13The Walking Dead
44The Walking Dead Vol. 30: New World OrderGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2018-09-05The Walking Dead
45The Walking Dead: The Final SeasonGameChris Rebbert, Vahram Antonian, Ryan D. Chan, Chris Rieser2018-08-14The Walking Dead
46The Walking Dead Vol. 31: The Rotten CoreGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2019-03-12The Walking Dead
47The Walking Dead Vol. 32: Rest in PeaceGraphic NovelRobert Kirkman2019-08-13The Walking Dead