Riyria Reading Order

riyria reading order banner art

Michael J. Sullivan is one of the most successful independent/hybrid authors out there right now. His Riyria universe has become his more popular world, and now you can experience that in chronological order.

What’s on the Riyria Reading Order?

This timeline includes all of the Riyria books by Michael J. Sullivan in chronological order. These books take place on the world of Elan, and includes all of the novels and short stories that take place on that world. This includes several series of books:

  • The Riyria Revelations books came first.
  • Riyria Chronicles followed but take place before the first series.
  • The First Empire books take place in the distant past and stand alone.

These three series provide the bulk of the Riyria books, but you will find several short stories as well.

Where do I start reading the Riyria books?

The Riyria books have too good places to start. First, the first books to be published (The Riyria Revelations series) is one good place. But the First Empire series, starting with Age of Myth, is another good place to start because it takes place so far in the past that it stands on its own.

If you find anything that we need to add, edit, or omit, please let us know. We love to hear any feedback you might have to make this timeline and this site better. We hope you enjoy this Riyria reading order! If you do, be sure to check out some of our other timelines, such as the Wheel of Time.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
Pile of BonesShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2020-01-07The First Empire
2Age of MythNovelMichael J. Sullivan2016-06-28The First Empire
3Age of SwordsNovelMichael J. Sullivan2017-07-25The First Empire
4Age of WarNovelMichael J. Sullivan2018-07-03The First Empire
5Age of LegendsNovelMichael J. Sullivan2019-07-09The First Empire
6Age of DeathNovelMichael J. Sullivan2020-02-04The First Empire
7Age of EmpyreNovelMichael J. Sullivan2020-05-05The First Empire
8The Crown TowerNovelMichael J. Sullivan2013-08-06Riyria Chronicles
9The Viscount and the WitchShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2011-10-08Riyria Chronicles
10The Rose and the ThornNovelMichael J. Sullivan2013-09-17Riyria Chronicles
11The JesterShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2014-07-17Riyria Chronicles
12Professional IntegrityShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2015-06-03Riyria Chronicles
13The Death of DulgathNovelMichael J. Sullivan2015-10-15Riyria Chronicles
14The Disappearance of Winter's DaughterNovelMichael J. Sullivan2018-10-02Riyria Chronicles
15TraditionsShort StoryMichael J. Sullivan2013-01-01Riyria RevelationsIncluded in Triumph Over Tragedy: an Anthology for the Victims of Hurricane Sandy
16Theft of SwordsNovelMichael J. Sullivan2011-11-23Riyria RevelationsCollects The Crown Conspiracy and Avempartha
17Rise of EmpireNovelMichael J. Sullivan2011-12-14Riyria RevelationsCollects Nyphron Rising and The Emerald Storm
18Heir of NovronNovelMichael J. Sullivan2012-01-31Riyria RevelationsCollects Wintertide and Percepliquis