Artemis Fowl Reading Order

artemis fowl reading order banner art

In the vein of Harry Potter comes Artemis Fowl, written by Eoin Colfer who would later go on to finish the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series. It’s easily one of the best middle-grade series available. This is the Artemis Fowl timeline.

What’s on the Artemis Fowl Reading Order?

The Artemis Fowl reading order takes all of the books, written by Eoin Colfer, and places them in chronological order. The main series of books came out in the appropriate order, but there are also two short stories that Colfer wrote.

You will also find a few graphic novels that we include on this timeline as well. We place these in the appropriate chronological order, though you can sort by release date if you want. And with the new film, it’s safe to say we may get more media in the near future.

As with our other timelines, don’t forget to let us know if you see something that is out of place or needs further adjustment. And if you enjoyed this timeline, check out some of our others, like our Wrinkle in Time timeline. We value your feedback.

Where to start?

You should definitely start with the first book in the series, Artemis Fowl, before moving on to the other books in the series. Read the graphic novels with the books if you want, but this is not necessary.

That being said, if you’re on the fence about starting the series, maybe start with the film and see if that interests you. If you like it, you can move on to the rest of the series.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1LEPreconShort StoryEoin Colfer2010-08-26Artemis FowlCollected in The Artemis Fowl Files
2Artemis FowlNovelEoin Colfer2001-05-01Artemis Fowl
3Artemis Fowl (comic)Graphic NovelEoin Colfer2007-10-02Artemis Fowl
4Artemis Fowl (film)FilmKenneth Branagh2020-06-12Artemis Fowl
5The Seventh DwarfShort StoryEoin Colfer2010-08-26Artemis FowlCollected in The Artemis Fowl Files
6Artemis Fowl: The Arctic IncidentNovelEoin Colfer2003-05-06Artemis Fowl
7Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident (comic)Graphic NovelEoin Colfer2009-08-11Artemis Fowl
8Artemis Fowl: The Eternity CodeNovelEoin Colfer2003-05-07Artemis Fowl
9Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code (comic)Graphic NovelEoin Colfer2013-07-09Artemis Fowl
10Artemis Fowl: The Opal DeceptionNovelEoin Colfer2005-04-30Artemis Fowl
11Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception (comic)Graphic NovelEoin Colfer2014-07-15Artemis Fowl
12Artemis Fowl: The Lost ColonyNovelEoin Colfer2006-08-02Artemis Fowl
13Artemis Fowl: The Time ParadoxNovelEoin Colfer2008-08-07Artemis Fowl
14Artemis Fowl: The Atlantis ComplexNovelEoin Colfer2010-07-20Artemis Fowl
15Artemis Fowl: The Last GuardianNovelEoin Colfer2012-07-10Artemis Fowl
16The Fowl TwinsNovelEoin Colfer2019-11-05The Fowl Twins
17The Fowl Twins Deny All ChargesNovelEoin Colfer2020-10-20The Fowl Twins
18The Fowl Twins Get What They DeserveNovelEoin Colfer2021-10-19The Fowl Twins