A Wrinkle in Time Reading Order

wrinkle in time reading order banner art

The Wrinkle in Time series has been around for nearly sixty years. The first book has spawned a Disney film, but did you know that there are multiple series from author Madeleine L’Engle? Some are quite separate, but still have ties to the original Wrinkle in Time book. Check out the Wrinkle in Time timeline.

What’s on the A Wrinkle in Time Reading Order??

Although Madeleine L’Engle has a large cast of recurring characters that intersect in some of her other works, the Wrinkle in Time series is mostly self-contained. You will find other works that are mostly unrelated and we don’t include them on this timeline.

Her two main series are the Kairos and the Cronos series. The Kairos series includes A Wrinkle in Time and the other books that involve those characters and their children.

The Cronos series gives us another set of characters. The Cronos series stands on its own, though some characters from each series appear in other books, so they definitely exist in the same universe.

Where to Start Reading?

Most would say the first book is the best place to start. A Wrinkle in Time is a classic. However, the Chronos series stands on its own. So that may be another good starting point. At least it isn’t burdened by the necessity of foreknowledge.

Additionally, if you like this timeline, you might like some of our others like the Solar Cycle timeline. As usual, be sure to let us know if there’s something we missed or could improve. Thank you, and we hope you enjoy!

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1A Wrinkle in TimeNovelMadeleine L’Engle1962-01-01First Generation/Time Quintet
2A Wrinkle in Time (film)FilmAva DuVernay2018-03-09First Generation/Time Quintet
3A Wind in the DoorNovelMadeleine L’Engle1973-01-01First Generation/Time Quintet
4A Swiftly Tilting PlanetNovelMadeleine L’Engle1978-07-01First Generation/Time Quintet
5Many WatersNovelMadeleine L’Engle1986-09-01First Generation/Time Quintet
6The Arm of the StarfishNovelMadeleine L’Engle1965-01-01Second Generation
7Dragons in the WatersNovelMadeleine L’Engle1976-04-01Second Generation
8A House Like a LotusNovelMadeleine L’Engle1984-11-01Second Generation
9An Acceptable TimeNovelMadeleine L’Engle1989-10-01Second Generation
10The Twenty-four Days Before ChristmasNovelMadeleine L’Engle1984-01-01ChronosSeperate series, but some characters crossover.
11A Full House: An Austin Family ChristmasNovelMadeleine L’Engle1999-01-01Chronos
12Meet the AustinsNovelMadeleine L’Engle1960-01-01Chronos
13The Moon by NightNovelMadeleine L’Engle1963-01-01Chronos
14The Young UnicornsNovelMadeleine L’Engle1968-01-01Chronos
15A Ring of Endless LightNovelMadeleine L’Engle1980-01-01Chronos
16The Anti-MuffinsNovelMadeleine L’Engle1980-01-01Chronos
17Troubling a StarNovelMadeleine L’Engle1994-09-30Chronos