Solar Cycle Reading Order

solar cycle reading order banner art

Gene Wolfe is considered a master at his craft, and that is profoundly apparent in the Solar Cycle, a collection of several series that all take place in the same universe. This is the Solar Cycle reading order.

What’s on the Solar Cycle Reading Order?

The Solar Cycle timeline takes all of the books written in the series by Gene Wolfe and places them in a chronological list. The series consists of several smaller series set within the same universe. It all started with the Book of the Sun series, and took off from there with several other series following. Though the series remain rather separate from each other, they are still part of the same continuity.

As with our other timelines, don’t forget to let us know if something is out of place or could use correcting. We love hearing from you.

Where to Start?

Since there are several series in this timeline, you might not know which to start with. In that case, we recommend you start with the first series that Wolfe wrote: The Book of the New Sun.

And if you enjoy this timeline, don’t forget to check out some of our others, including the Saga of the Seven Suns timeline.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1The CatShort StoryGene Wolfe1983-01-01Prequel StoriesCollected in Endangered Species
2The MapShort StoryGene Wolfe1984-01-01Prequel StoriesCollected in Endangered Species
3Empires of Foliage and FlowerShort StoryGene Wolfe1987-01-01Prequel StoriesCollected in Starwater Strains
4The Shadow of the TorturerNovelGene Wolfe1980-05-01The Book of the New Sun
5The Claw of the ConciliatorNovelGene Wolfe1981-01-01The Book of the New Sun
6The Sword of the LictorNovelGene Wolfe1982-01-01The Book of the New Sun
7The Citadel of the AutarchNovelGene Wolfe1983-01-01The Book of the New Sun
8The Urth of the New SunNovelGene Wolfe1987-08-01The Book of the New Sun
9The Tale of the Student and His SonShort StoryGene Wolfe1980-01-01The Book of the New Sun
10Folia's Story: The Armiger's DaughterShort StoryGene Wolfe1982-01-01The Book of the New Sun
11Nightside the Long SunNovelGene Wolfe1993-01-01Book of the Long Sun
12Lake of the Long SunNovelGene Wolfe1994-01-01Book of the Long Sun
13Calde of the Long SunNovelGene Wolfe1994-01-01Book of the Long Sun
14Exodus From the Long SunNovelGene Wolfe1996-01-01Book of the Long Sun
15On Blue's WatersNovelGene Wolfe1999-01-01Book of the Short Sun
16In Green's JunglesNovelGene Wolfe2000-01-01Book of the Short Sun
17Return to the WhorlNovelGene Wolfe2001-01-01Book of the Short Sun