Wheel of Time Book Order: The Complete Chronology of the Books and TV Series

This Wheel of Time reading order takes all of the books, a few comics, and the TV show and places them in chronological order. This list of books also includes the books written by Brandon Sanderson after the death of author Robert Jordan to finish the series. 

All in all, we include all the major media in the Wheel of Time universe, as well as their adaptations.

The Timeline Table

First, let’s get to the meat and potatoes of this timeline, my table that has everything in chronological order by default, but can also be sorted by release date, title name, author, media type, etc. And I’ve got a complete breakdown following it.

The Complete Release Order

If you’re looking to read the Wheel of Time series in release order, here’s how you should do it:

  • Eye of the World (1990)
  • The Great Hunt (1990)
  • The Dragon Reborn (1991)
  • The Shadow Rising (1992)
  • The Fires of Heaven (1993)
  • Lord of Chaos (1994)
  • A Crown of Swords (1996)
  • The World of Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time (1997, a reference book that includes the short story “The Strike at Shayol Ghul”)
  • The Path of Daggers (1998)
  • Winter’s Heart (2000)
  • Crossroads of Twilight (2003)
  • New Spring (2004, the prequel novel)
  • Knife of Dreams (2005)
  • The Gathering Storm (2009, finished by Brandon Sanderson)
  • Towers of Midnight (2010, finished by Brandon Sanderson)
  • A graphic novel adaptation of New Spring and Eye of the World (2011)
  • A Memory of Light (2013, finished by Brandon Sanderson)
  • The Amazon Wheel of Time TV series (2021)

Naturally, if you’re only interested in the main series, than you can ignore the reference book, the comics, and the TV series.

The Complete Chronological Order

There are some slight differences if you want to experience everything in chronological order. Namely, New Spring, the prequel novel should be read first in this case. And you should also watch the TV and comic adaptations in a different position. Here’s the proper chronological order.

  • New Spring (2004)
  • The comic adaptation of New Spring
  • “The Strike at Shayol Ghul” (2007)
  • Eye of the World (1990)
  • The comic adaptation of Eye of the World
  • The Amazon TV adaptation of Eye of the World
  • The Great Hunt (1990)
  • The Dragon Reborn (1991)
  • The Shadow Rising (1992)
  • The Fires of Heaven (1993)
  • Lord of Chaos (1994)
  • A Crown of Swords (1996)
  • The Path of Daggers (1998)
  • Winter’s Heart (2000)
  • Crossroads of Twilight (2003)
  • Knife of Dreams (2005)
  • The Gathering Storm (2009)
  • Towers of Midnight (2010)
  • A Memory of Light (2013)

Sadly, Robert Jordan did not live to finish the series, so Brandon Sanderson took his finished material and outline to complete the final three books. Lucky for us, those books were great, and a satisfying ending to the Wheel of Time.

Also lucky for us, there appears to be a lot more on the horizon, not necessarily for books, but for television and film. Should those prove successful, I think we’ll see a lot more in the future.

What’s the Best Wheel of Time Series Order?

As someone who has read the whole thing through more than once, I can definitively say that you should read everything in release order. New Spring, the prequel, is not really a good starting place, and could honestly spoil certain elements of the main series.

That said, if you’re already familiar with the series, then reading everything chronologically can be a fun exercise. But in this case, as with most timelines, I think release order is often the best course for the beginner, and chronological order the best for the hard-core fan.

Also, by the way, I highly recommend the reference book, The World of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time, if you’re interested in digging into the lore. It’s a fantastic resource. That said, I’d read at least the first three books in the series first, to avoid spoilers.

What is the Wheel of Time About?

The Wheel of Time is a sweeping epic fantasy series that begins in a small town of Emond’s Field. In it, three young boys with unique abilities and destinies have the rug pulled from under them as their village is attacked, and they accompany a mystical sorceress named Moraine to escape.

Moraine is part of a group of sorceresses called Aes Sedai, and they are the only ones permitted to use magic in this world. Male sorcerers eventually go mad. Because of this, the society that has built up in the Wheel of Time is largely a matriarchal one.

These three boys, Rand, Mat, and Perrin, along with their friends Egwene and Nynaeve, start from humble beginnings but are eventually caught up in a huge series of epic battles, nations, politics, and magic. 

Is the Wheel of Time Worth Reading?

I get it, this series is 14 books, and each one is massive, but I can honestly say that it’s popular for a reason. The worldbuilding is phenomenal and the characters are genuinely interesting and well-written.

Personally, I do think it’s worth reading all of them. But if you want, I would actually recommend the audiobooks as the preferred way to read these books. Michael Kramer and Kate Reading do a great job of bringing the characters to life. You can get them through Audible here:

Frequently Asked Question

These are a few questions that I hear passed around so I’m going to give you some short and succinct answers to these.

Should I read the Wheel of Time prequel first?

No, you should definitely read the books in release order, unless you’ve already done so.

What Age is the Wheel of Time Appropriate For?

The Wheel of Time is good for people aged 12 and up, in my opinion. It is mostly clean, but there are a few instances of nudity, mostly in a ritualistic setting. These instances are few and far between. And as with most epic fantasies, there is a lot of stylized violence and action.

Is Wheel of Time Better than Game of Thrones?

Wheel of Time is quite different from Game of Thrones. The former is the epitome of epic fantasy, while the latter is closer to a grimdark fantasy. Personally, I find Wheel of Time to be much more uplifting and empowering. Game of Thrones is just depressing, you guys.

Will there ever be more Wheel of Time?

Currently, there doesn’t appear to be any plans on continuing with other series of books set in this world. However, there are plans to continue the TV series (led by showrunner Rafe Judkins and starring Rosamund Pike), and there’s a trilogy of prequel films currently in development. I think it’s likely that we will continue to see a lot of new media take on Robert Jordan’s imaginative world. Does that mean more books? Hard to say, but I think it’s unlikely in the near future.

Which is the longest Wheel of Time book?

The Shadow Rising is the longest Wheel of Time book. It is the fourth in the series, coming out at 393,823 words, which is insanely massive.

How long is the Wheel of Time book series?

The main Wheel of Time series spans fourteen books, and is a whopping 4,410,036 words long. If you listened to the audiobooks without stopping, it would take you 18 days, 18 hours, and 39 minutes.

Final Thoughts on the Wheel of Time Book Order

So I’ve given you a picture of both the release order and chronological order for the Wheel of Time, along with my recommendation on which is best.

Now it’s your turn. If you liked this timeline, be sure to give us a like on Facebook and share with your friend.

If you enjoyed this timeline, you might enjoy some of our others, including our Shannara series timeline. 

Leave a Comment