Black Company Reading Order

black company reading order banner art

The Black Company fantasy series could well be called the defining dark fantasy series. It paved the way for many other such dark fantasies. This is the Black Company reading order. Enjoy!

What’s on the Black Company Reading Order?

This is the unofficial Black Company reading order, featuring the books by Glen Cook. As always, we arrange them in internal chronological order. The series also includes a number of short stories.

Like our other timelines, if you know additional details on the chronology of this timeline, let us know and we’ll add it to the list.

And if you enjoyed this timeline, you might enjoy some of our others. For example, we recommend checking out the Malazan timeline for another epic fantasy like this one. In addition, you can contact us on our contact page with any input you’d like to add. Just let know how we can improve!  Thank you, and we hope you enjoy this Black Company reading order.

Where to start reading the Black Company series?

This is one instance where the answer to this question is simple. Start at the beginning. The chronological and release date order for these books coincide (for the most part).

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1The Black CompanyNovelGlen Cook1984-05-01Books of the North
2Port of ShadowsNovelGlen Cook2018-09-11Books of the NorthA reworking of the short stories "Tides Elba", "Smelling Danger", and "Bone Candy".
3Shadows LingerNovelGlen Cook1984-10-01Books of the North
4Shaggy Dog BridgeShort StoryGlen Cook2013-05-28Books of the NorthPublished in Fearsome Journeys: The New Solaris Book of Fantasy
5Bone EatersShort StoryGlen Cook2015-03-01Books of the NorthPublished in Operation Arcana
6The White RoseNovelGlen Cook1985-04-01Books of the North
7The Silver SpikeNovelGlen Cook1989-09-01Spin-off
8Shadow GamesNovelGlen Cook1989-06-01Books of the South
9Dreams of SteelNovelGlen Cook1990-04-01Books of the South
10Bleak SeasonsNovelGlen Cook1996-04-01Books of the Glittering Stone
11She Is the DarknessNovelGlen Cook1997-09-01Books of the Glittering Stone
12Water SleepsNovelGlen Cook1999-03-01Books of the Glittering Stone
13Soldiers LiveNovelGlen Cook2000-07-01Books of the Glittering Stone