Malazan Reading Order

The Malazan books have become one of the most acclaimed and popular epic fantasy stories in recent years. Written primarily by Steven Erikson, this series is ongoing, so enjoy them as they come!

What’s in the Malazan Reading Order?

The Malazan books are primarily written by Steven Erikson, though some are written by Ian C. Esslemont as part of a separate series that intermingles with the main series. Erikson has also written a series of novellas, and recently started a trilogy that takes place thousands of years before the main series. The setting is an epic fantasy world.

Where to Start Reading Malazan?

This is one of those instances where we don’t recommend you read chronologically unless you’re already familiar with the story. It’s best to start with the first book in the main series, and proceed by release date from there.

We want you to contact us if there’s anything out of order here. We try to keep everything in chronological order, though you can sort by release year if you want. So here is the Malazan Reading Order for those interested in reading the entire saga. And if you like this timeline, be sure to check out some of our others, such as the Cosmere timeline.

1 thought on “Malazan Reading Order”

  1. This is a very well thought out and detailed storyline in chronological reading order…

    1.Forge of Darkness
    2.Fall of Light
    3.Walk in Shadow*
    4.Dancer’s Lament
    5.Deadhouse Landing
    6.Kellanved’s Reach
    7.Night of Knives
    8.Blood Follows
    9.The Lees of Laughter’s End
    10.The Wurms of Blearmouth
    11.Gardens of the Moon
    12.Deadhouse Gates
    13.Memories of Ice
    14.The Healthy Dead
    15.Crack’d Pot Trail
    16.The Fiends of Nightmaria
    17.Midnight Tides
    18.House of Chains
    19.The Bonehunters
    20.Return of the Crimson Guard
    21.Reaper’s Gale
    23.Toll the Hounds
    24.Goats of Glory
    26.Blood and Bone
    28.Dust of Dreams
    29.The Crippled God
    30.The God is Not Willing*

    * Book has not written as of yet

    30-32 {Witness Trilogy }…
    This trilogy Takes place 4-5 years after the end of the 10 book series…


Leave a Comment