The Cosmere Reading Order

banner with art from the books and text that says the cosmere timeline

A shared universe of epic fantasy series, created by Brandon Sanderson. One of the more ambitious literary projects of the modern age.

What’s in the Cosmere Reading Order?

This Cosmere reading order focuses on a series of books by Brandon Sanderson that act as a shared universe of sorts, like the Marvel or Star Wars universes.

The Cosmere consists of multiple series of books that take place on various planets, and each has a “god” that represents various aspects of creation. While all of these series link to each other, most tend to stand alone. These series include:

  • Elantris Series: The world of Sel.
  • Warbreaker Series: The world of Nalthis.
  • Mistborn Series: The world Scadrial.
  • The Stormlight Archive: The world of Roshar.
  • White Sand: The world of Taldain.
  • Other short stories and novellas set in the Cosmere universe.

Additionally, Brandon Sanderson still has a lot to write. For example, the Stormlight Archive series only has two of the ten books completed. And the Cosmere may end up being 30-40+ books total, so there’s still a lot of ground to cover.

This Cosmere reading order gives you all of the books currently out or announced in the best order we know, based on what little information we have. We hope you enjoy this chronological compendium as you read these excellent books.

Where do I start reading Brandon Sanderson’s books?

Each of Sanderson’s series can be read on their own, even though they connect to the larger Cosmere.

However, most would probably start with Elantris, since that is a single book, or the first Mistborn trilogy. We would recommend starting with the Mistborn trilogy, since those are some of Sanderson’s best work, and it’s not an intimidatingly long series.

If you want something very short to start with, we recommend The Emperor’s Soul.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1White SandGraphic NovelBrandon Sanderson, Rik Hoskin2016-06-28White SandAdapted from an old manuscript that Brandon Sanderson wrote in his earlier years.
2White Sand, Vol. 2Graphic NovelBrandon Sanderson, Rik Hoskin2018-02-21White Sand
3White Sand, Vol. 3Graphic NovelBrandon Sanderson, Rik Hoskin2019-09-18White Sand
4ElantrisNovelBrandon Sanderson2005-04-21ElantrisSanderson's debut novel.
5The Hope of ElantrisShort StoryBrandon Sanderson2006-01-01Elantris
6The Emperor's SoulShort StoryBrandon Sanderson2012-11-01Elantris
7The Eleventh MetalShort StoryBrandon Sanderson2012-07-01Mistborn Era 1
8Mistborn: The Final EmpireNovelBrandon Sanderson2006-07-17Mistborn Era 1
9The Well of AscensionNovelBrandon Sanderson2007-08-21Mistborn Era 1
10The Hero of AgesNovelBrandon Sanderson2008-10-14Mistborn Era 1
11Mistborn: Secret HistoryShort StoryBrandon Sanderson2016-01-26Mistborn Era 1
12WarbreakerNovelBrandon Sanderson2009-06-09Warbreaker
13Shadows for Silence in the Forests of HellShort StoryBrandon Sanderson2013-12-03
14The Way of KingsNovelBrandon Sanderson2010-08-31Stormlight Archives
15Words of RadianceNovelBrandon Sanderson2014-03-04Stormlight Archives
16EdgedancerNovellaBrandon Sanderson2016-11-22Stormlight Archives
17OathbringerNovelBrandon Sanderson2017-11-14Stormlight Archives
18DawnshardNovellaBrandon Sanderson2020-11-10Stormlight Archives
19Rhythm of WarNovelBrandon Sanderson2020-11-17Stormlight Archives
20The Alloy of LawNovelBrandon Sanderson2011-11-08Mistborn Era 2
21Allomancer Jak and the Pits of EltaniaShort StoryBrandon Sanderson2012-07-01Mistborn Era 2
22Shadows of SelfNovelBrandon Sanderson2015-10-06Mistborn Era 2
23The Bands of MourningNovelBrandon Sanderson2016-01-26Mistborn Era 2
24Sixth of the DuskShort StoryBrandon Sanderson2014-06-30First of the Sun