Foundation Reading Order

foundation reading order banner art

If one man could be called the father of modern science fiction, it would be Isaac Asimov, and of all his well-known work, the Foundation novels have long been considered his best. So much so that others have since contributed to the universe.

What’s on the Foundation Reading Order?

The Foundation series started as just a few collections of short stories by Isaac Asimov. He eventually wrote several prequel novels, and connected it to other series that he had written, including the Robot series. After his death, several authors continued that stories in Foundation and filled in the holes, almost as a way to honor the original author.

As with our other timelines, lists, and reading orders, we hope you will let us know if there’s anything out of place or anything that needs to be added. In the mean time, we hope you enjoy this Foundation reading order. If you do, be sure to check out some of our other timelines, such as the Dune timeline.

Where to Start?

There are two good places to start on this timeline. If you’re interested in reading the proper Foundation saga, we recommend Prelude to Foundation. But I, Robot is also a great place to start, as it’s one of Asimov’s more well-known works.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1I, Robot: To ProtectNovelMickey Zucker Reichert2011-11-01Robot Era
2I, Robot: To ObeyNovelMickey Zucker Reichert2013-09-03Robot Era
3I, Robot: To PreserveNovelMickey Zucker Reichert2016-02-02Robot Era
4I, RobotNovelIsaac Asimov1950-12-02Robot Era
5The Rest of the RobotsNovelIsaac Asimov1964-01-01Robot Era
6The Complete RobotNovelIsaac Asimov1982-01-01Robot EraIncludes I, Robot and The Rest of the Robots
7Robot DreamsNovelIsaac Asimov1986-11-01Robot Era
8Robot VisionsNovelIsaac Asimov1990-01-01Robot Era
9The Positronic ManNovelIsaac Asimov, Robert Silverberg1992-10-01Robot Era
10NemesisNovelIsaac Asimov1989-10-01Robot Era
11Mother EarthShort StoryIsaac Asimov1949-05-01Robot EraCollected in Isaac Asimov: The Complete Stories, Vol. 1
12The Caves of SteelNovelIsaac Asimov1954-02-04Robot Era
13The Naked SunNovelIsaac Asimov1957-01-01Robot Era
14Mirror ImageShort StoryIsaac Asimov1972-05-01Robot EraCollected in The Complete Robot
15The Robots of DawnNovelIsaac Asimov1983-01-01Robot Era
16Mirage NovelMark W. Tiedemann2000-04-01Robot Mystery
ChimeraNovelMark W. Tiedemann2001-01-01Robot Mystery
18AuroraNovelMark W. Tiedemann2002-01-01Robot Mystery
19Have Robot, Will TravelNovelAlexander C. Irvine2005-01-01Robot Mystery
20Robots and EmpireNovelIsaac Asimov1985-09-20Robot Mystery
21Isaac Asimov's CalibanNovelRoger MacBride Allen1993-03-01Caliban Trilogy
22Isaac Asimov's InfernoNovelRoger MacBride Allen1994-09-01Caliban Trilogy
23Isaac Asimov's UtopiaNovelRoger MacBride Allen1996-01-01Caliban Trilogy
24The Stars, Like DustNovelIsaac Asimov1951-02-15Empire
25The Currents of SpaceNovelIsaac Asimov1952-01-01Empire
Pebble in the SkyNovelIsaac Asimov1950-01-19Empire
Prelude to FoundationNovelIsaac Asimov1988-11-01Foundation
28Forward the FoundationNovelIsaac Asimov1993-04-01Foundation
29Foudation's FearNovelGregory Benford1997-02-01Foundation
30Foundation and ChaosNovelGreg Bear1998-02-01Foundation
31Foundation's TriumphNovelDavid Brin1999-05-01Foundation
32FoundationNovelIsaac Asimov1951-01-01Foundation
33Foundation and EmpireNovelIsaac Asimov1952-01-01Foundation
34Second FoundationNovelIsaac Asimov1953-01-01Foundation
35Foundation's EdgeNovelIsaac Asimov1982-01-01Foundation
Foundation and EarthNovelIsaac Asimov1986-01-01Foundation
37Foundation's FriendsAnthologyRay Bradbury, Robert Silverberg, Frederik Pohl, Poul Anderson, Harry Turtledove, Orson Scott Card1989-01-01Foundation
The End of EternityNovelIsaac Asimov1955-01-01Beyond Time