Belgariad Reading Order

belgariad reading order banner art

Belgariad has long been one of the top epic fantasy series, often shelved right next to the Lord of the Rings or the Wheel of Time. There are several series and even some prequels, so here is your timeline and reading order for the Belgariad series.

What’s on the Belgariad Reading Order?

The Belgariad reading order includes all of the Belgariad books written by David Eddings. It consists of two prequels, five main books, and five books in a sequel series.

Unfortunately, Mr. Eddings passed away in 2009, so additions to this timeline are not likely will probably not happen. However, given the number of books in this multi-part series, we thought we should include it here with our list of timelines.

Don’t forget to let us know if we missed something, or if we should make any changes. We’re always looking to correct any mistakes. You can let us know on our contact page.

Additionally, if you liked this timeline, we recommend you visit some of the others, such as the Wheel of Time timeline.

Where to start reading Belgariad?

Though the Belgariad several prequels, the best place to start should probably be the first book written in the series. That would be Pawn of Prophecy, the first in the Belgariad series. Then you can read the prequels if you want.

Or just read the books in publication order. Thank you for visiting, and we hope you enjoy this Belgariad reading order.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1Belgarath the SorcererNovelDavid Eddings1996-06-01Prequels
2Polgara the Sorceress NovelDavid Eddings1998-05-26Prequels
3Pawn of Prophecy NovelDavid Eddings1982-04-01Belgariad
4Queen of Sorcery NovelDavid Eddings1982-11-01Belgariad
5Magician’s Gambit NovelDavid Eddings1983-06-01Belgariad
6Castle of Wizardry NovelDavid Eddings1984-05-01Belgariad
7Enchanters’ End Game NovelDavid Eddings1984-12-01Belgariad
8Guardians of the West NovelDavid Eddings1987-04-01Malloreon
9King of the Murgos NovelDavid Eddings1988-04-01Malloreon
10Demon Lord of Karanda NovelDavid Eddings1988-09-01Malloreon
11Sorceress of Darshiva NovelDavid Eddings1989-12-01Malloreon
12The Seeress of Kell NovelDavid Eddings1991-05-01Malloreon
13The Rivan CodexNovelDavid Eddings1998-09-14Background information