Earthsea Cycle Reading Order

earthsea cycle reading order banner art

Ursula K. Le Guin is largely considered one of the greatest fantasy writers of all time, and her Earthsea Cycle is a prime example. It has become one of the most beloved fantasy stories of all time, and a huge influence on the genre.

What’s on the Earthsea Cycle Reading Order?

This is the unofficial Earthsea Cycle reading order and timeline for the series of books by Ursula K. Le Guin, one of the more popular fantasy worlds out there. Right now, it consists of five novels and a handful of short stories.

There were some other adaptations of the series, and even a Studio Ghibli film that was based on the series. However, none of these adaptations stayed true to the continuity of the series, and weren’t well endorsed by Le Guin herself. So for those reasons, they are not included on this timeline.

And that said, here is the appropriate reading order for the Earthsea Cycle. We hope you enjoy!

Where to Start Reading the Earthsea Cycle?

Even though there are a number of short stories that take place before the books, we recommend you skip those if you’re new to the story. Start with A Wizard of Earthsea.