Mass Effect Timeline in Chronological Order

mass effect timeline banner art

The Mass Effect franchise started in 2007, but has since grown to include multiple games, comics, novels, and even an anime film. It’s become one of the most innovative RPG game franchises of all time, and one of our favorites here at All Timelines. This is the Mass Effect timeline.

What’s on the Mass Effect Timeline?

This list attempts to create a reading order (or in some cases viewing/playing order) for all major pieces of Mass Effect in chronological order. This includes primarily all video games, novels, films, and comic books.

This list does not attempt to split up any media so that they are read congruently, but rather focuses on an easy to follow reading/playing/watching list. In the event that two works cover the exact same time-frame the one published first is read first.

Additionally the placement within the timeline is often based on where the work ends rather than where it begins. There may be a few exceptions which may be pointed out individually.

Where to Start the Mass Effect Franchise

As with many video gaming franchises, this is a hard question to answer. Naturally, for the story at least, the best place to begin is the first game. But many consider Mass Effect 2 to be the pinacle of the franchise’s acheivement. Plus, the latest game is usually going to have better graphics and potential improvements of its own.

That said, we do recommend the first game, if you haven’t played any of them. In terms of gameplay, it’s simpler than the others, but it’s also crucial to begin to understand the shear scope of these games.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateTimeNotes
1EvolutionGraphic NovelMac Walters, John Jackson Miller2011-09-212157 CE
2RevelationNovelDrew Karpyshyn2007-05-012157 CE
3He Who Laughs BestGraphic NovelMac Walters, Jeremy Barlow2013-05-042157 CESingle-issue comic.
4Mass EffectGameCasey Hudson2007-11-202183-2186 CE
5IncursionGraphic NovelMac Walters2010-06-212183-2186 CE
6RedemptionGraphic NovelMac Walters, John Jackson Miller2010-06-082183-2186 CE
7Foundation Vol. 1Graphic NovelMac Walters2014-02-052183-2186 CE
8Foundation Vol. 2Graphic NovelMac Walters2014-06-042183-2186 CE
9Foundation Vol. 3Graphic NovelMac Walters, Jeremy Barlow2014-11-052183-2186 CE
10AscensionNovelDrew Karpyshyn2008-07-292183-2186 CE
11GalaxyGameKevin Barrett2009-06-222183-2186 CEFor mobile devices
12InfiltratorGameJarrad Trudgen2012-03-062183-2186 CEFor mobile devices
13Blasto: Eternity is ForeverGraphic NovelMac Walters2012-11-072183-2186 CESingle-issue comic.
14Mass Effect 2GameCasey Hudson2010-01-262183-2186 CE
15RetributionNovelDrew Karpyshyn2010-07-272183-2186 CE
16InvasionGraphic NovelMac Walters, John Jackson Miller2012-04-182183-2186 CE
17InquisitionGraphic NovelMac Walters2010-10-262183-2186 CE
18DeceptionNovelWilliam C. Dietz2012-01-312183-2186 CEContains several continuity errors, in earlier editions.
19Mass Effect: Paragon LostFilmAtsushi Takeuchi2012-12-282183-2186 CE
20HomeworldsGraphic NovelMac Walters, Jeremy Barlow, Patrick Weekes, John Dombrow, Sylvia Feketekuty2012-11-072183-2186 CE
21ConvictionGraphic NovelMac Walters2011-09-012183-2186 CESingle issue mini-comic
22Mass Effect 3GameCasey Hudson2012-03-062183-2186 CE
23Nexus UprisingNovelJason M. Hough, K. C. Alexander2017-03-21Unknown
24Mass Effect: AndromedaGameMac Walters2017-03-21Unknown
25DiscoveryGraphic NovelJeremy Barlow, Mac Walters, John Dombrow2018-01-17Unknown
26AnnihilationNovelCatherynne M. Valente2018-11-06Unknown
27InitiationNovelN. K. Jemisin, Mac Walters2017-11-28Unknown