Firefly Timeline

firefly timeline banner art

Firefly, one of the most notorious entries in geek culture. Its early cancellation immortalized it our collective geek minds. But it didn’t end there. Check out what other stories in other mediums have since come.

What’s in the Firefly Timeline?

Firefly was unfortunately cancelled after only airing a few episodes of its first season. However, fans have since clamored for more stories featuring these characters. That is what led to a feature film to wrap up several story threads. Additionally, several comics would eventually continue the story even further.

So this timeline takes all the media in the Firefly universe and puts them together into one cohesive viewing order. We list this Firefly timeline in chronological order by default. However, you can still sort by release date or other factors. So feel free to play around with the table. As with all of our timelines, don’t forget to let us know if there’s something else we should add or change. You can do this on our contact page. Additionally, you can visit one of our other timelines if you liked this one, such as our Star Trek timeline. Thank you, and enjoy!

Where to Start?

The best place (by far) to start is with the original series. Just watch it already. You need to. Like now. Go. Do it. Even if you’ve already seen it. Go watch.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1Firefly Vol. 1Graphic NovelGreg Pak2019-04-24Firefly
2Firefly Vol. 2: The Unification War Graphic NovelGreg Pak2019-12-11Firefly
3Firefly Vol. 3: The Unification WarGraphic NovelGreg Pak2020-05-05Firefly
Firefly Vol. 4: New Sheriff in the 'Verse: Part OneGraphic NovelGreg Pak2020-09-09Firefly
Firefly Vol. 5: New Sheriff in the 'Verse: Part TwoGraphic NovelGreg Pak2021-01-27Firefly
6R. Tam SessionsShort FilmJoss Whedon2005-08-16FireflyAnonymously released by Whedon, Included in the Serenity DVD/Blu-ray
7Firefly 1.01: SerenityTV EpisodeJoss Whedon2002-12-20Firefly
8Firefly 1.02: The Train JobTV EpisodeJoss Whedon2002-09-20Firefly
9Firefly 1.03: BushwhackedTV EpisodeTim Minear2002-09-27Firefly
10Firefly 1.04: ShindigTV EpisodeVern Gillum2002-11-01Firefly
11Firefly 1.05: SafeTV EpisodeMichael Grossman2002-11-08Firefly
12Firefly 1.06: Our Mrs. ReynoldsTV EpisodeVondie Curtis Hall2002-10-04Firefly
13Firefly 1.07: JaynestownTV EpisodeMarita Grabiak2002-10-18Firefly
14Firefly 1.08: Out of GasTV EpisodeDavid Solomon2002-10-25Firefly
15Firefly 1.09: ArielTV EpisodeAllan Kroeker2002-11-15Firefly
16Firefly 1.10: War StoriesTV EpisodeJames Contner2002-12-06Firefly
17Firefly 1.11: TrashTV EpisodeVern Gillum2003-07-21Firefly
18Firefly 1.12: The MessageTV EpisodeTim Minear2003-07-28Firefly
19Firefly 1.13: Heart of GoldTV EpisodeThomas J. Wright2003-08-04Firefly
20Firefly 1.14: Objects in SpaceTV EpisodeJoss Whedon2002-12-13Firefly
21Firefly: The StingGraphic NovelDelilah Dawson 2019-11-13Firefly
22Serenity Vol. 1: Those Left BehindGraphic NovelJoss Whedon, Brett Matthews2006-01-31Firefly
Serenity Vol. 2: Better Days and Other StoriesGraphic NovelJoss Whedon, Jim Krueger, Brett Matthews, Patton Oswalt, Zack Whedon2011-09-06FireflyEverything in this collection takes place here except "Float Out" which takes place after Serenity
24Firefly: Big Damn HeroNovelJames Lovegrove, Nancy Holder2018-11-20Firefly
25Firefly: The Magnificent NineNovelJames Lovegrove2019-03-26Firefly
26Firefly: The Ghost MachineNovelJames Lovegrove2020-03-24Firefly
27Firefly: GenerationsNovelTim Lebbon2019-10-15Firefly
28Firefly: Life SignsNovelJames Lovegrove2021-03-16Firefly
29SerenityFilmJoss Whedon2005-08-22Firefly
30SerenityNovelKeith R. A. DeCandido, Joss Whedon2005-08-30FireflyNovelization of the film.
31Firefly: Watch How I SoarGraphic NovelJeff Jensen2020-11-25Firefly
32Serenity Vol. 3: The Shepherd's TaleGraphic NovelJoss Whedon, Zack Whedon2010-11-03Firefly
33Serenity Vol. 4: Leaves on the WindGraphic NovelZack Whedon2014-11-18Firefly
34Serenity Vol. 5: No Power in the 'VerseGraphic NovelChris Roberson2017-07-26Firefly