Ender’s Game Timeline and Reading Order

ender's game reading order banner art

Wherever you see lists of the top science fiction books of all time, Ender’s Game inevitably makes the top three. The book spawned a maxi-series known as the Enderverse, which is one of the best military and hard science fiction series of all time. This is the Ender’s Game Reading Order.

What’s on the Ender’s Game Timeline?

The Ender’s Series by Orson Scott Card (also known as the Enderverse, Ender Saga, or the Ender Universe) has grown to be quite large, especially considering one author has been responsible for most of it. This Ender’s Game timeline takes all of those books, short stories, comics, and the film to form a cohesive reading order for you to easily follow.

There are a lot of difference series within the Enderverse. First, you have several prequel series. Then you have Ender’s Game that started it all. But from there you have two diverging series, one focusing on Ender, and another on his schoolmates. The two are even slightly different sci-fi genres. But they’re both very good.

Where to Start the Enderverse?

While I do recommend starting with Ender’s Game on this series, that doesn’t mean reading it through chronologically won’t be a ton of fun. In fact, I would recommend reading Ender’s Game (so you know what the big deal is), then start reading the rest of the series chronologically. Because it gets good. Both of the two series that branch out from Ender’s Game are highly recommended.

As always, if you see something you would change, be sure to let us know. And if you liked this timeline, be sure to check out some of our others, such as the Foundation reading order.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1Earth UnawareNovelOrson Scott Card, Aaron Johnston2012-07-17First Formic War
2Earth AfireNovelOrson Scott Card, Aaron Johnston2013-06-04First Formic War
3Earth AwakensNovelOrson Scott Card, Aaron Johnston2014-06-10First Formic War
4Formic Wars: Burning EarthGraphic NovelOrson Scott Card, Aaron Johnston2011-09-21First Formic War
5Formic Wars: Silent StrikeGraphic NovelOrson Scott Card, Aaron Johnston2012-07-25First Formic War
6The SwarmNovelOrson Scott Card, Aaron Johnston2016-08-02Second Formic War
7The HiveNovelOrson Scott Card, Aaron Johnston2019-06-11Second Formic War
9Mazer in PrisonShort StoryOrson Scott Card2005-10-01Second Formic War
10Mazer in Prison (comic)ComicOrson Scott Card2010-01-01Second Formic War
11The Polish BoyShort StoryOrson Scott Card2002-01-01Second Formic War
12Teacher's PestShort StoryOrson Scott Card2003-08-01Second Formic War
13Pretty BoyShort StoryOrson Scott Card2006-03-01Second Formic War
14CheaterShort StoryOrson Scott Card2006-10-01Second Formic War
15Ender's StockingShort StoryOrson Scott Card2007-01-01Ender's Game
16Ender's GameNovelOrson Scott Card1985-01-01Ender's Game
17Ender's Game (comic)Graphic NovelOrson Scott Card2012-01-18Ender's GameComic adaptation of the book.
18Ender's Game (film)FilmGavin Hood2013-11-01Ender's GameFilm adaptation of the book.
19Ender's Game AliveAudio DramaOrson Scott Card2013-10-22Ender's GameAn audio drama adaptation
20Ender's ShadowNovelOrson Scott Card1999-09-01Shadow NovelsTakes place concurrently with Ender's Game.
21Ender's Shadow (comic)Graphic NovelOrson Scott Card2012-02-22Shadow NovelsComic adaptation of the book.
22A War of GiftsNovelOrson Scott Card2017-11-28Shadow NovelsTakes place during Ender's Game
23A War of Gifts (comic)ComicJake Black2009-12-09Shadow Novels
24Recruiting ValentineComicOrson Scott Card2009-01-01Shadow NovelsTakes place during Ender's Game
25The League WarComicOrson Scott Card2010-04-14Shadow Novels
27A Young Man with ProspectsShort StoryOrson Scott Card2007-02-01Shadow Novels
28Children of the FleetNovelOrson Scott Card2017-10-10Shadow Novels
29Shadow of the HegemonNovelOrson Scott Card2001-01-01Shadow Novels
30Shadow PuppetsNovelOrson Scott Card2002-08-01Shadow Novels
31Shadow of the GiantNovelOrson Scott Card2005-03-08Shadow Novels
32Ender in FlightShort StoryOrson Scott Card2008-04-01Ender's Story
33Ender in Flight (comic)Graphic NovelOrson Scott Card2011-01-26Ender's Story
34Ender in ExileNovelOrson Scott Card2008-11-11Ender's Story
35The Gold BugShort StoryOrson Scott Card2007-01-01Ender's Story
36The Gold Bug (comic)ComicOrson Scott Card2007-03-17Ender's Story
37Investment CounselorShort StoryOrson Scott Card1999-05-01Ender's Story
38Shadows in FlightNovelOrson Scott Card2012-01-17Ender's Story
39Speaker for the DeadNovelOrson Scott Card1986-03-01Ender's Story
40Speaker for the Dead (comic)Graphic NovelOrson Scott Card, Aaron Johnston2011-05-03Ender's Story
41Gloriously BrightShort StoryOrson Scott Card1991-01-01Ender's Story
42XenocideNovelOrson Scott Card1991-08-01Ender's Story
43Children of the MindNovelOrson Scott Card1996-08-01Ender's Story