Discworld Reading Order

discworld reading order banner art

The late Sir Terry Pratchett is the undisputed king of humerous fantasy, and his Discworld universe is by far the most expansive of his writings. It’s a great way to experience his writing.

What’s in the Discworld Reading Order?

While there are many recommended ways to read the Discworld series, written by the late Terry Pratchett, I prefer the chronological approach. There are mostly standalone novels in the Discworld series, but some of them do tie together.

What follows is the Discworld series in chronological order as best as I can place it. There are some short stories that may or may not be in the correct place.

As always, we ask you to let us know if there’s anything out of place or missing. You can do this on our contact page. In the mean time, we hope you enjoy this Discworld reading order. If you do, don’t forget to check out some of our others, such as our Dresden Files timeline.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1The Colour of MagicNovelTerry Pratchett1983-11-24Rincewind
2The Light FantasticNovelTerry Pratchett1986-01-01Rincewind
3SourceryNovelTerry Pratchett1988-05-26Rincewind
4EricNovelTerry Pratchett1990-01-01Rincewind
5Interesting TimesNovelTerry Pratchett1994-01-01Rincewind
6Troll BridgeShort StoryTerry Pratchett1992-10-01RincewindPrinted in After the King: Stories in honour of J. R. R. Tolkien
7The Last ContinentNovelTerry Pratchett1998-01-01Rincewind
8The Last HeroComicTerry Pratchett2001-01-01Rincewind
9Unseen AcademicalsNovelTerry Pratchett2009-10-01Rincewind
10A Collegiate Casting-out of Devilish DevicesShort StoryTerry Pratchett2005-05-13RincewindIncluded in A Blink of the Screen
11Equal RitesNovelTerry Pratchett2005-09-13Witches
12Wyrd SistersNovelTerry Pratchett1988-11-10Witches
13Witches AbroadNovelTerry Pratchett1991-01-01Witches
14Lords and LadiesNovelTerry Pratchett1992-01-01Witches
15MaskeradeNovelTerry Pratchett1995-01-01Witches
16Carpe JugulumNovelTerry Pratchett1998-01-01Witches
17The Sea and Little FishiesShort StoryTerry Pratchett1998-01-01WitchesCollected in Legends anthology.
18The Wee Free MenYA NovelTerry Pratchett2003-01-01Witches
19The Amazing Maurice and his Educated RodentsYA NovelTerry Pratchett2001-11-01Witches
20A Hat Full of SkyYA NovelTerry Pratchett2004-01-01Witches
21WintersmithYA NovelTerry Pratchett2006-09-21Witches
22I Shall Wear MidnightYA NovelTerry Pratchett2010-09-02Witches
23The Shepherd's CrownYA NovelTerry Pratchett2015-08-27Witches
24PyramidsNovelTerry Pratchett1989-01-01Ancient Civilizations
25Small GodsNovelTerry Pratchett1992-01-01Ancient Civilizations
26Death and What Comes NextShort StoryTerry Pratchett2002-01-01Ancient Civilizations
27MortNovelTerry Pratchett1987-11-12Death
Reaper ManNovelTerry Pratchett1991-01-01Death
29Soul MusicNovelTerry Pratchett1994-01-01Death
30HogfatherNovelTerry Pratchett1996-01-01Death
31Thief of TimeNovelTerry Pratchett2001-01-01Death
32Guards! Guards!NovelTerry Pratchett1989-01-01Watch
33Men at ArmsNovelTerry Pratchett1993-01-01Watch
Theatre of CrueltyShort StoryTerry Pratchett1993-01-01WatchCollected in The Wizards of Odd
35Feet of ClayNovelTerry Pratchett1996-01-01Watch
36JingoNovelTerry Pratchett1997-01-01Watch
37The Fifth ElephantNovelTerry Pratchett1999-01-01Watch
38Night WatchNovelTerry Pratchett2002-01-01Watch
Thud!NovelTerry Pratchett2005-09-13Watch
40SnuffNovelTerry Pratchett2011-10-11Watch
Where's my Cow?Junior NovelTerry Pratchett2005-09-27Watch
42The World of PooJunior NovelTerry Pratchett2012-06-07Watch
43Moving PicturesNovelTerry Pratchett1990-01-01Industrial Revolution
44The TruthNovelTerry Pratchett2000-01-01Industrial Revolution
45Monstrous RegimentNovelTerry Pratchett2003-01-01Industrial Revolution
46Going PostalNovelTerry Pratchett2004-09-25Industrial Revolution
47Making MoneyNovelTerry Pratchett2007-09-20Industrial Revolution
48Raising SteamNovelTerry Pratchett2013-11-07Industrial Revolution