The Hunger Games Reading Order

hunger games reading order banner art

What started out as a single book soon grew into a small collection of stories that nevertheless took the world by storm, resulting in a surge in popularity of the YA dystopian genre. This is the Hunger Games timeline.

What’s on the Hunger Games Reading Order?

This unofficial Hunger Games reading order and timeline takes all of the books and films and places them in chronological order. There are only a few books and films, but it’s the Hunger Games. I couldn’t not include it on my list of timelines. Besides, executives at Lionsgate have suggested that they might make more films set in this universe, so it is likely to expand in the future.

So for your consideration, here is The Hunger Games reading order. As always, don’t forget to let us know if there’s something else we should add, take away, or rearrange. And if you liked this timeline, you might enjoy some of our others, such as the Wizarding World timeline. Thank you, and enjoy.

Where to Start?

Easily the best place to start is with the original book, The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins, but if you’re not much of a reader, the films are also quite good. We won’t judge you too badly for not reading the books first.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1The Ballad fo Songbirds and SnakesNovelSuzanne Collins2020-05-19Prequel
2The Hunger GamesNovelSuzanne Collins2008-09-14The Hunger Games
3The Hunger Games (film)FilmGary Ross2012-03-23The Hunger Games
4Catching FireNovelSuzanne Collins2009-09-01The Hunger Games
5Catching Fire (film)FilmFrancis Lawrence2013-11-22The Hunger Games
6The MockingjayNovelSuzanne Collins2010-08-24The Hunger Games
7The Mockingjay, Part 1FilmFrancis Lawrence2014-11-21The Hunger Games
8The Mockingjay, Part 2FilmFrancis Lawrence2015-11-20The Hunger Games