The Dark Tower Reading Order

dark tower timeline banner art

This Dark Tower reading order assembles all of Stephen King’s works that relate to The Dark Tower series directly, though not including many of King’s other works that have smaller ties.

What’s on The Dark Tower Reading Order?

The Dark Tower is a series by Stephen King, and is actually considered the lynch-pin for all of his work. Many elements of King’s books show up in The Dark Tower. However, since there is a multiverse involved, those books are largely ignored in this timeline. This timeline is only about the Dark Tower series, including the books and the comics.

Don’t forget to let us know if you see anything missing or any other errors on the timeline. We love your feedback and are always looking for ways to improve the site. You can do this on our contact page. We read everything that comes in.

Where to Start?

Most would agree you should start with The Gunslinger, the first book in the series. The comics are supplemental. Therefore you should save those until you are more familiar with the books. However, you might enjoy a full, chronological readthrough.

Additionally, if you liked this timeline, you might enjoy some of our others, such as our Dune series timeline. Thank you so much for visiting, and we hope you enjoy perusing through the shadowy world of The Dark Tower.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1The Gunslinger BornGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2007-11-07Prequels
2The Long Road HomeGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2008-10-07Prequels
3TreacheryGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2009-04-21Prequels
4The SorcererGraphic NovelRobin Furth2009-04-17Prequels
5Fall of GileadGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2010-02-17Prequels
6Battle of Jericho HillGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2010-08-18Prequels
7Eyes of the DragonNovelStephen King1987-02-02Prequels
8The TalismanNovelStephen King, Peter Straub1984-11-08Prequels
9The Little Sisters of EluriaNovellaStephen King1998-08-25Prequels
The Little Sisters of Eluria (comic)Graphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2011-06-22Prequels
11The GunslingerNovelStephen King1982-06-10Main SeriesJake Chambers appears in this book and he is from New York of 1977, hence its placement here on the timeline.
The Journey BeginsGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2011-01-26The Gunslinger
The Battle of TullGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2012-01-25The Gunslinger
The Way StationGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2012-06-27The Gunslinger
15The Man in BlackGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2013-01-15The Gunslinger
16Last ShotsGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2013-10-15The Gunslinger
17The Drawing of the ThreeNovelStephen King1987-05-01Main Series
The PrisonerGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2015-03-10Drawing of the Three
House of CardsGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2015-09-29Drawing of the Three
Lady of ShadowsGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2016-03-29Drawing of the Three
Bitter MedicineGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2016-10-25Drawing of the Three
The SailorGraphic NovelRobin Furth, Peter David2017-04-26Drawing of the Three
23The WastelandsNovelStephen King1991-08-01Main Series
24Wizard and GlassNovelStephen King1997-11-04Main Series
25The Wind Through the KeyholdNovelStephen King2012-02-21Main Series
26Wolves of CallaNovelStephen King2003-11-04Main Series
27Song of SusannahNovelStephen King2004-06-08Main Series
28The Dark TowerNovelStephen King2004-09-21Main Series
29Black HouseNovelStephen King, Peter Straub2001-09-15
30The Dark Tower (2017 film)FilmNikolaj Arcel2017-08-04This is an original story set after the Dark Tower series, though it does have similarities to previous stories.