Sword of Truth Reading Order

sword of truth timeline banner art

The Sword of Truth series can easily stand alongside the Wheel of Time or Game of Thrones as one of the most in-depth, immersive sags in fantasy history. With over a dozen books, and two seasons of a television show, it’s one of the best reads for epic fantasy fanatics.

What’s on the Sword of Truth Reading Order?

This is the unofficial Sword of Truth reading order for the series of books written by Terry Goodkind. This timeline also includes the Legend of the Seeker television show, which unfortunately only lasted two seasons and adapted the first two books of the series.

Even though the show took creative liberties to conform to the medium, it still stayed true to the original vision that Goodkind had, so for that reason, it is included here on the timeline.

Don’t forget to let us know if there’s anything missing, or if you have any questions about this or any of our timelines. We hope you enjoy!

Where to Start Reading the Sword of Truth?

We recommend you start at the beginning with Wizard’s First Rule, the first book written. However, it won’t spoil you too much to read the two prequels ahead of time. And there’s also the show, Legend of the Seeker, that serves as a good draw into the story for those not quite willing to commit to such a massive series.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1The First Confessor: The Legend of Magda SearusNovelTerry Goodkind2012-07-02Prequels
2Debt of BonesNovelTerry Goodkind1998-08-25Prequels
3Wizard's First RuleNovelTerry Goodkind1994-08-15First Series
4Legend of the Seeker 1.01: ProphecyTV EpisodeMark Beesley2008-11-01First Series
5Legend of the Seeker 1.02: DestinyTV EpisodeMark Beesley2008-11-01First Series
6Legend of the Seeker 1.03: BountyTV EpisodeJesse Warn2008-11-08First Series
7Legend of the Seeker 1.04: BrennidonTV EpisodeJonathan Brough2008-11-15First Series
8Legend of the Seeker 1.05: ListenerTV EpisodeMark Beesley2008-11-22First Series
9Legend of the Seeker 1.06: ElixirTV EpisodeCharlie Haskell2008-11-29First Series
10Legend of the Seeker 1.07: IdentityTV EpisodeGarth Maxwell2008-12-06First Series
11Legend of the Seeker 1.08: DennaTV EpisodeMichael Hurst2009-01-10First Series
12Legend of the Seeker 1.09: PuppeteerTV EpisodeMark Beesley2009-01-17First Series
13Legend of the Seeker 1.10: SacrificeTV EpisodeMichael Hurst2009-01-24First Series
14Legend of the Seeker 1.11: ConfessionTV EpisodeGarth Maxwell2009-01-31First Series
15Legend of the Seeker 1.12: HomeTV EpisodeCharlie Haskell2009-02-21First Series
16Legend of the Seeker 1.13: RevenantTV EpisodeGeoffrey Cawthorn2009-02-28First Series
17Legend of the Seeker 1.14: HartlandTV EpisodeMark Beesley2009-03-07First Series
18Legend of the Seeker 1.15: ConversionTV EpisodeAndrew Merrifield2009-03-14First Series
19Legend of the Seeker 1.16: BloodlineTV EpisodeGarth Maxwell2009-03-21First Series
20Legend of the Seeker 1.17: DeceptionTV EpisodeChris Martin-Jones2009-03-28First Series
21Legend of the Seeker 1.18: MirrorTV EpisodeJonathan Brough2009-04-25First Series
22Legend of the Seeker 1.19: CursedTV EpisodeMark Beesley2009-05-02First Series
23Legend of the Seeker 1.20: SanctuaryTV EpisodeGarth Maxwell2009-05-09First Series
24Legend of the Seeker 1.21: FeverTV EpisodeJonathan Brough2009-05-16First Series
25Legend of the Seeker 1.22: ReckoningTV EpisodeMichael Hurst2009-05-23First Series
26Stone of TearsNovelTerry Goodkind1995-09-15First Series
27Legends of the Seeker 2.01: MarkedTV EpisodeMark Beesley2009-11-07First Series
28Legends of the Seeker 2.02: BanelingTV EpisodeMichael Hurst2009-11-14First Series
29Legends of the Seeker 2.03: BrokenTV EpisodeNicki Paluga2009-11-21First Series
30Legends of the Seeker 2.04: TouchedTV EpisodeGarth Maxwell2009-11-28First Series
31Legends of the Seeker 2.05: WizardTV EpisodeJonathan Brough2009-12-05First Series
32Legends of the Seeker 2.06: FuryTV EpisodeAndrew Merrifield2009-12-12First Series
33Legends of the Seeker 2.07: ResurrectionTV EpisodeJesse Warn2010-01-09First Series
34Legends of the Seeker 2.08: LightTV EpisodeJonathan Brough2010-01-16First Series
35Legends of the Seeker 2.09: DarkTV EpisodeGarth Maxwell2010-01-23First Series
36Legends of the Seeker 2.10: PerditionTV EpisodeMark Beesley2010-01-30First Series
37Legends of the Seeker 2.11: TornTV EpisodeChris Martin-Jones2010-02-13First Series
38Legends of the Seeker 2.12: HungerTV EpisodeMichael Hurst2010-02-20First Series
39Legends of the Seeker 2.13: PrincessTV EpisodeGarth Maxwell2010-02-27First Series
40Legends of the Seeker 2.14: BoundTV EpisodeChris Martin-Jones2010-03-20First Series
41Legends of the Seeker 2.15: CreatorTV EpisodeMike Smith2010-03-27First Series
42Legends of the Seeker 2.16: DesecratedTV EpisodeGarth Maxwell2010-04-10First Series
43Legends of the Seeker 2.17: VengeanceTV EpisodeMichael Hurst2010-04-17First Series
44Legends of the Seeker 2.18: WalterTV EpisodeAndrew Merrifield2010-04-24First Series
45Legends of the Seeker 2.19: ExtinctionTV EpisodeJesse Warn2010-05-01First Series
46Legends of the Seeker 2.20: EternityTV EpisodeGarth Maxwell2010-05-08First Series
47Legends of the Seeker 2.21: UnbrokenTV EpisodeMichael Hurst2010-05-15First Series
48Legends of the Seeker 2.22: TearsTV EpisodeMark Beesley2010-05-22First Series
Blood of the FoldNovelTerry Goodkind1996-10-15First Series
Temple of the WindsNovelTerry Goodkind1997-09-15First Series
Soul of the FireNovelTerry Goodkind1999-03-15First Series
52Faith of the FallenNovelTerry Goodkind2000-08-22First Series
53The Pillars of CreationNovelTerry Goodkind2001-11-20First Series
54Naked EmpireNovelTerry Goodkind2003-07-21First Series
55ChainfireNovelTerry Goodkind2005-01-04First Series
56PhantomNovelTerry Goodkind2006-07-18First Series
57ConfessorNovelTerry Goodkind2007-11-13First Series
58The Omen MachineNovelTerry Goodkind2011-08-16Richard and Kahlan
59The Third KingdomNovelTerry Goodkind2013-08-20Richard and Kahlan
60Severed SoulsNovelTerry Goodkind2014-08-12Richard and Kahlan
61WarheartNovelTerry Goodkind2015-11-17Richard and Kahlan
The Scribbly ManNovellaTerry Goodkind2019-04-04Children of D'Hara
63Hateful ThingsNovellaTerry Goodkind2019-07-22Children of D'Hara
64WastelandNovellaTerry Goodkind2019-10-07Children of D'Hara
65Witch's OathNovellaTerry Goodkind2020-01-06Children of D'Hara
66Into DarknessNovellaTerry Goodkind2020-06-30Children of D'Hara
67Death's MistressNovelTerry Goodkind2017-01-24Nicci Chronicles
68Shroud of EternityNovelTerry Goodkind2018-01-09Nicci Chronicles
69Siege of StoneNovelTerry Goodkind2019-01-01Nicci Chronicles
70Heart of Black IceNovelTerry Goodkind2020-01-21Nicci Chronicles
71The Law of NinesNovelTerry Goodkind2009-08-18StandaloneModern universe with SOT parallels. Set 1000 years after the Sword of Truth novels..