Shannara Reading Order

shannara timeline banner art

The Shannara series has become one of the quintessential fantasy series of the last two generations. What started in 1977 has become a huge sprawling series.

What’s on the Shannara Reading Order?

This Shannara reading order comes from the series of books written by Terry Brooks. The Shannara Chronicles is a television series, developed by MTV, based on the book series. The show starts with Elfstones of Shannara. This timeline lists all of the Shannara books and tie-in series. These include the Word/Void series. It also includes the show, even though the show does not perfectly follow the books.

The Shannara series has a lot of separate stories, often appearing in trilogies. While Terry Brooks has continued to write books in chronological order over the years, he has occasionally gone back and written prequel novels. He even created a graphic novel as part of the timeline. Now that MTV has adapted the series, more people have interest in reading the books. So enjoy this timeline which should hopefully help you catch up on the lore of the epic Shannara timeline.

Where to Start Reading Shannara?

While not the chronological beginning, you should probably start with the trilogy that began the epic series. These books are The Sword of Shannara, Elfstones of Shannara (which is where the MTV show starts), and Wishsong of Shannara. After that, it doesn’t matter if you go back to read the prequels, or if you continue with the sequels. That said, the Word/Void trilogy stands alone, and exists much earlier than the main Shannara storyline. So that’s another good place to start, especially since it begins the chronology.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1Imaginary FriendsShort StoryTerry Brooks1991-10-23The Word and the VoidWritten as a prototype of the Word/Void trilogy.
2Running with the DemonNovelTerry Brooks1997-08-19The Word and the Void
3A Knight of the WordNovelTerry Brooks1998-07-28The Word and the Void
4Angel Fire EastNovelTerry Brooks1999-10-26The Word and the Void
5Armageddon's ChildrenNovelTerry Brooks2006-08-01Genesis of Shannara
6The Elves of CintraNovelTerry Brooks2007-08-28Genesis of Shannara
7The Gypsy MorphNovelTerry Brooks2008-08-26Genesis of Shannara
8Bearers of the Black StaffNovelTerry Brooks2010-08-01Legends of Shannara
9The Measure of the MagicNovelTerry Brooks2011-08-01Legends of Shannara
10First King of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1996-03-19Shannara Prequel
11Allanon's QuestShort StoryTerry Brooks2012-07-01Paladins of ShannaraCollected in Paladins of Shannara
12The Sword of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1977-01-01Main Trilogy
13The Black IrixShort StoryTerry Brooks2013-06-01Paladins of ShannaraCollected in Paladins of Shannara
14The Elfstones of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1982-01-01Main Trilogy
15The Shannara Chronicles 1.01: Chosen, Part 1TV EpisodeJonathan Liebesman2016-01-05Shannara ChroniclesLoose adaptation of Elfstones of Shannara
16The Shannara Chronicles 1.02: Chosen, Part 2TV EpisodeJonathan Liebesman2016-01-05Shannara Chronicles
17The Shannara Chronicles 1.03: FuryTV EpisodeJames Marshall2016-01-12Shannara Chronicles
18The Shannara Chronicles 1.04: ChangelingTV EpisodeJames Marshall2016-01-19Shannara Chronicles
19The Shannara Chronicles 1.05: ReaperTV EpisodeBrad Turner2016-01-26Shannara Chronicles
20The Shannara Chronicles 1.06: PykonTV EpisodeBrad Turner2016-02-02Shannara Chronicles
21The Shannara Chronicles 1.07: BreaklineTV EpisodeJesse Warn2016-02-09Shannara Chronicles
22The Shannara Chronicles 1.08: UtopiaTV EpisodeJesse Warn2016-02-16Shannara Chronicles
23The Shannara Chronicles 1.09: SafeholdTV EpisodeBrad Turner2016-02-23Shannara Chronicles
24The Shannara Chronicles 1.10: EllcrysTV EpisodeBrad Turner2016-03-01Shannara Chronicles
25The Shannara Chronicles 2.01: DruidTV EpisodeBrad Turner2017-10-11Shannara ChroniclesA continuiation of the original Elfstones of Shannara story.
26The Shannara Chronicles 2.02: WraithTV EpisodeBrad Turner2017-10-18Shannara Chronicles
27The Shannara Chronicles 2.03: GraymarkTV EpisodeJames Marshall2017-10-25Shannara Chronicles
28The Shannara Chronicles 2.04: DwellerTV EpisodeJames Marshall2017-11-01Shannara Chronicles
29The Shannara Chronicles 2.05: ParanorTV EpisodeToa Fraser2017-11-08Shannara Chronicles
30The Shannara Chronicles 2.06: CrimsonTV EpisodeBrad Turner2017-11-08Shannara Chronicles
31The Shannara Chronicles 2.07: WarlockTV EpisodeJames Marshall2017-11-15Shannara Chronicles
32The Shannara Chronicles 2.08: AmberleTV EpisodeJames Marshall2017-11-15Shannara Chronicles
33The Shannara Chronicles 2.09: WilderunTV EpisodeToa Fraser2017-11-22Shannara Chronicles
34The Shannara Chronicles 2.10: BloodTV EpisodeBrad Turner2017-11-22Shannara Chronicles
35The Weapon Master's ChoiceShort StoryTerry Brooks2013-01-01Paladins of ShannaraCollected in Paladins of Shannara
36The Wishsong of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1985-04-12Main Trilogy
37IndomitableShort StoryTerry Brooks2003-12-30OtherCollected in Legends II
38The Dark Wraith of ShannaraGraphic NovelTerry Brooks2008-03-25Other
39The Scions of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1990-03-01Heritage of Shannara
40The Druid of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1991-03-01Heritage of Shannara
41The Elf Queen of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1992-03-01Heritage of Shannara
42The Talismans of ShannaraNovelTerry Brooks1993-03-01Heritage of Shannara
43Ilse WitchNovelTerry Brooks2000-09-05Voyage of the Jerle Shannara
44AntraxNovelTerry Brooks2001-09-18Voyage of the Jerle Shannara
45MorgawrNovelTerry Brooks2002-09-02Voyage of the Jerle Shannara
46Jarka RuusNovelTerry Brooks2003-08-26High Druid of Shannara
47TanequilNovelTerry Brooks2004-08-31High Druid of Shannara
48StrakenNovelTerry Brooks2005-09-06High Druid of Shannara
49Wards of FaerieNovelTerry Brooks2012-08-01Dark Legacy of Shannara
50Bloodfire QuestNovelTerry Brooks2013-03-01Dark Legacy of Shannara
51Witch WraithNovelTerry Brooks2013-07-01Dark Legacy of Shannara
52The High Druid's BladeNovelTerry Brooks2014-07-01Defenders of Shannara
53The Darkling ChildNovelTerry Brooks2015-06-01Defenders of Shannara
54The Sorcerer's DaughterNovelTerry Brooks2016-05-01Defenders of Shannara
55The Black ElfstoneNovelTerry Brooks2017-06-13The Fall of Shannara
The Skaar InvasionNovelTerry Brooks2018-06-19The Fall of Shannara
The Stiehl AssassinNovelTerry Brooks2019-05-28The Fall of Shannara
The Last DruidNovelTerry Brooks2020-10-27The Fall of Shannara