Borderlands Universe Timeline

borderlands universe timeline banner art

Borderlands is a complete mashup of video games genres into one packed explosion of a good time. It’s unique story and gameplay have made it one of the best-selling video games of all time. This is the Borderlands Universe timeline.

What’s on the Borderlands Universe timeline?

While not huge in terms of the number of items on the timeline, Borderlands has spawned a number of spin-off games and literature that are considered canon within the Borderlands universe. These include a handful of comics, a few books, and additional video games besides the main series, including one made by Telltale Games.

The games themselves are great to play, as they are a combination of first-person shooter, with some RPG and open world elements. Storywise, they are also unique, with a combination of western, science fiction, and fantasy all rolled into one. We highly recommend it.

Where to start on the Borderlands chronology?

Most would probably say start with the first Borderlands game, and this is definitely a good places to start. However, we’d also recommend getting the Borderlands Handsome Collection, which includes the Pre-Sequel and Borderlands 2. Either are okay starting point. We do, however, recommend you play some of the games before reading the comics or novels.

If you like this timeline, sound off in the comments below. Additionally, let us know if there are any mistakes or additions we need to correct. And don’t forget to check out some of our other timelines, such as the Doom timeline.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1Borderlands: The FallenNovelJohn Shirley2011-11-22Borderlands
2Borderlands: UnconqueredNovelJohn Shirley2012-09-25Borderlands
Borderlands: OriginsGraphic NovelMikey Neumann2013-06-05Borderlands
4BorderlandsGameMatthew Armstrong2009-10-20Borderlands
Borderlands: Fall of FyrestoneGraphic NovelMikey Neumann2015-02-04Borderlands
Borderlands: Tannis and the VaultGraphic NovelMikey Neumann2015-06-10Borderlands
7Borderlands: GunsightNovelJohn Shirley2013-10-01Borderlands
8Borderlands: The Pre-SequelGameAnthony Burch, Kirsten Kahler2014-10-14Borderlands
9Borderlands 2GamePaul Hellquist2012-09-18Borderlands
10Borderlands LegendsGame2012-10-31Borderlands
Tales from the BorderlandsGameNick Herman, Jonathan Stauder, Ashley Ruhl, Martin Montgomery2014-11-25Borderlands
12Borderlands 3GamePaul Sage2019-09-13Borderlands