Half-Life Universe Timeline

We all thought Half-life was an amazing, innovative game. Then our minds were blown with not only its sequel, but a seemingly new franchise as well, Portal. Then our minds are blown again as it’s hinted that the two universes are one and the same. This is the Half-life/Portal universe timeline.

What’s on the Half-Life Universe Timeline?

We call it the Half-Life Universe timeline because it started with the first game, Half-Life, one of the most innovative games of the 90s. It since grew into a shared universe with the Portal games, which take place in the same timeline (though Portal 2 is in the far future). The games have been named as some of the best video games of all time, and there is even talk of a movie from producer J. J. Abrams that could tie-in with the next game (if there ever is a next game).

What we have isn’t much; there aren’t many additional comics or books either. Mostly the games. But there are a number of expansions to some of the games, so all of those are listed here in chronological order.

Where to Start?

There are several places to start on this timeline. In fact, you could almost start with any of the games, especially the first Half-life, Half-life 2, or the first Portal. Each of these stand on their own and are great entry points into the series.

Personally, I’m a big fan of Portal.

As always, if you see anything that needs changing, don’t hesitate to point it out. And if you like this timeline, you might want to check out some of our others, such as the Bioshock timeline.

1 thought on “Half-Life Universe Timeline”

Leave a Comment