Gears of War Timeline

What started as a bloody franchise known for letting you literally slice enemies with a chainsaw located, literally, on your gun, Gears of War has quickly become a franchise that many enjoy. Particularly if you’re one of those people that needs a violent outlet. This is the Gears of War timeline.

What’s on the Gears of War Timeline?

This list attempts to create a reading order (or in some cases viewing/playing order) for all major pieces of Gears of War media. This includes primarily all video games, novels, films, and comic books.

This list does not attempt to split up any media so that they are read congruently, but rather focuses on an easy to follow reading/playing/watching list. In the event that two works cover the exact same time-frame the one published first is read first. Additionally the placement within the timeline is often based on where the work ends rather than where it begins. There may be a few exceptions which will be pointed out in individual reviews.

Where to Start?

Probably the best place to start would be the Gears of War Ultimate Edition, which is a remastered version of the first game for modern consoles. However, as of right now, there are not remastered versions of the other Xbox 360 games. So either you’ll need an Xbox 360 to play them, or you’ll need to use backwards compatibility.

But keep in mind that Gears of War 4 started a whole new storyline, so it is also a decent place to start, just as long as you don’t mind being a little out of the loop of the history of the place. It’s not too bad.

2 thoughts on “Gears of War Timeline”

Leave a Comment