Forgotten Realms Chronological Reading Order

What’s in the Forgotten Realms Chronological Reading Order?

This is the chronological reading order for the Forgotten Realms series of books and short stories. Forgotten Realms is a huge story setting. The original authors developed it for Dungeons and Dragons. Many authors contributed to this world, although Ed Greenwood and R. A. Salvatore still wrote much of it. While overlap exists between some stories, we usually place them in order based on where they end.

Now the number of books and short stories for Forgotten Realms is so massive that it’s easy to make a mistake when ordering them, so if you see anything that should be placed in another area of the timeline, please let us know. We want to create an easy-to-follow timeline for all of the Forgotten Realms media, so we welcome any help to avoid confusion. So enjoy the Forgotten Realms chronological reading order. And if you’re a fan of other tabletop literature, check out our Dragonlance reading order. Fans of the Forgotten Realms character, Drizzt Do’urden will also enjoy our Legends of Drizzt timeline.

As always, if you have questions or comments about this timeline, we recommend you visit our contact page.

9 thoughts on “Forgotten Realms Chronological Reading Order”

  1. Once I finish with the drizzt novels I plan to look into the other drow books. But wow there’s a lot of content here. I don’t know what to check out afterwards

    • Here’s a pro-tip that I use. Look at the list and see which novels/short story collections have audiobooks. Not all of them do, as producing audiobooks is expensive. Generally the most important and most popular books get the audiobook treatment, so that can be a good clue which to read. Even if you don’t listen to audiobooks.

  2. Bones and stones should be after the lone drow I believe and comrades at arms odds should be after two swords. It takes place right where it left off

  3. The first three Brimstone Angels novels are incorrectly attributed to Richard Baker where it should be Erin M. Evans

  4. Venom in Her Veins (1479 DR)
    The Gilded Rune (1306-1480 DR)

    Dungeons & Dragons: Dark Alliance / Echoes of the Blood War (1356 DR, right after ‘The Crystal Shard’)


Leave a Comment