Diablo Timeline and Chronology

diablo timeline banner art

Blizzard took the world by storm (no pun intended) with their highly successful Diablo games in 1996 and 2000. Now there’s much more to take you into this world, including novels, comics, and of course, Diablo III.

What’s on the Diablo Timeline?

This Diablo Timeline takes all of the canon media that is part of the Diablo series and places it in chronological order. This includes the three games and their expansions, as well as several books, comics, and even a few in-universe books (placed at the end). While only consisting of three games, there is actually quite a lot to process. We hope you enjoy diving into the Diablo universe.

Where to Start?

If you’re new to the games, we recommend starting with Diablo III, which is the most accessible to modern audiences. But if you’ve played the games and want to dive into the lore, we recommend starting at the beginning.

As always, if you see anything you think should change, drop us a note on our Facebook page. And if you enjoyed this timeline, you might enjoy some of our others, such as the Doom timeline.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1The Sin War: BirthrightNovelRichard A. Knaak2006-10-01The Sin War
2The Sin War: Scales of the SerpentNovelRichard A. Knaak2007-03-27The Sin War
3The Sin War: The Veiled ProphetNovelRichard A. Knaak2007-09-25The Sin War
4DemonsbaneNovelRobert B. Marks2000-10-31Diablo Archive
5Diablo IGame1996-12-31Diablo
6The Black RoadNovelMel Odom2002-04-02Diablo ArchiveTakes place parallel to Diablo I
7Diablo IIGame2000-06-29Diablo
8Legacy of BloodNovelRichard A. Knaak2001-05-01Diablo ArchiveTakes place parallel to Diablo II
9Tales of SanctuaryGraphic NovelDavid Land, Phil Amara2001-11-09Diablo ComicsThree seperate stories all taking place within the Sanctuary.
10The Kingdom of ShadowNovelRichard A. Knaak2002-08-01Diablo ArchiveTakes place parallel to Diablo II
11Diablo II: Lord of DestructionGame2001-06-29Diablo
12Moon of the SpiderNovelRichard A. Knaak2006-01-01Diablo
13The OrderNovelNate Kenyon2012-05-15Diablo
14Sword of JusticeGraphic NovelAaron Williams2013-07-09Diablo Comics
15Diablo IIIGame2012-05-15Diablo
16Storm of LightNovelNate Kenyon2014-02-27Diablo
17Diablo III: Reaper of SoulsGame2014-03-25Diablo
18Diablo III: Rise of the NecromancerGame2017-06-27DiabloAvailable as a downloadable DLC.
19Heroes Rise, Darkness FallsAnthologyMicky Neilson, Cameron Dayton, Matt Burns, Michael Chu, James Waugh, Erik Sabol2012-11-27Diablo
20MorbedNovelMicky Neilson2014-04-21Diablo
21Book of CainNovel2011-12-13Diablo
22Book of TyraelNovelMatt Burns2013-10-22Diablo