The Runelords Reading Order

runelords reading order banner art

David Farland has been a mentor to many great fantasy authors of today, including Brandon Sanderson. In the Runelords series, he’s at his best, displaying a true mastery of storytelling. This is the Runelords reading order.

What’s in the Runelords Reading Order?

David Farland started the Runelords series in 1998. David Farland is a pen name for David Wolverton, who has worked in multiple science fiction and fantasy genres, including Star Wars.

The Runelords reading order on this page takes the entire epic fantasy series and places it in chronological order for your reading convenience. Thankfully this isn’t too difficult with the Runelords series since it was released chronologically, and that’s also the best way to read it.

But just like our other timelines, be sure to let us know if we got anything wrong or if there’s something else we could change. And if you like this timeline, don’t forget to look at some of the others, including the Wheel of Time timeline.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1The Sum of All MenNovelDavid Farland1998-07-01Earth King
2Brotherhood of the WolfNovelDavid Farland1999-04-15Earth King
3WizardbornNovelDavid Farland2001-03-14Earth King
4The Lair of BonesNovelDavid Farland2003-11-08Earth King
5Sons of the OakNovelDavid Farland2006-11-14Scions of Earth
6WorldbinderNovelDavid Farland2007-09-18Scions of Earth
7The Wyrmling HordeNovelDavid Farland2008-09-16Scions of Earth
8ChaosboundNovelDavid Farland2009-10-13Scions of Earth