Space Odyssey Reading Order

odyssey series timeline banner art

The short story that spawned a film that spawned a novelization that spawned a series, the Space Odyssey series has long been considered one of Arthur C. Clarke’s masterpieces. This is the Space Odyssey reading order.

What’s on the Space Odyssey Reading Order?

The Space Odyssey reading order takes the series written by Arthur C. Clarke and places each of the books in chronological order. This includes the film that was produced at the same time as the book. This timeline does not include the comics that were produced shortly after the release of the film.

This timeline also includes the Time Odyssey series which were described by Clarke as being “neither a sequel nor a prequel.” Instead the series is more of a spiritual successor to the original series, taking place in a parallel universe of sorts. Because of their thematic relationship, the two series are both included on this list.

Where to Start?

I would actually recommend you read the 2001: A Space Odyssey novelization, even though it came after the film. It will help you make sense of the film when you see it. Then you can proceed in order from there.

If you liked this timeline, we recommend checking out some of our others, such as the Known Space timeline.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1The SentinelShort StoryArthur C. Clarke1951-04-01Space OdysseyEarly concepts for 2001
2Encounter in the DawnShort StoryArthur C. Clarke1953-07-01Space OdysseyEarly concepts for 2001
32001: A Space OdysseyNovelArthur C. Clarke1968-01-01Space Odyssey
42001: A Space OdysseyFilmStanley Kubrick, Arthur C. Clarke1968-04-02Space Odyssey
52010: Odyssey TwoNovelArthur C. Clarke1982-12-01Space Odyssey
62010FilmPeter Hyams1984-12-07Space Odyssey
72061: Odyssey ThreeNovelArthur C. Clarke1987-12-01Space Odyssey
83001: The Final OdysseyNovelArthur C. Clarke1997-01-01Space Odyssey
9Time's EyeNovelArthur C. Clarke, Stephen Baxter2003-03-03Time OdysseyNeither prequel nor sequel to Space Odyssey
10SunstormNovelArthur C. Clarke, Stephen Baxter2005-03-29Time Odyssey
11FirstbornNovelArthur C. Clarke, Stephen Baxter2007-12-26Time Odyssey