His Dark Materials Reading Order

his dark materials reading order banner art

One of the classics when it comes to middle-grade fantasy, Philip Pullman is one of the best authors for introspective philosophy presented in entertaining, literary form. This is the His Dark Materials reading order.

What’s on the His Dark Materials Reading Order?

His Dark Materials only consists of a few books, by Philip Pullman. This His Dark Materials reading takes all of those books and places them in chronological order, since not all of these books were released in chronological order. However, if you so desire, you can sort by release year to get the original release order.

This timeline also assembles the film adaptation and television series. Either are great ways to enter the universe of Philip Pullman.

As with our other timelines, be sure to let us know if there is something out of place, or if there’s that needs fixing or adding. We welcome any and all input you can give us to make this a better timeline. And if you liked this timeline, be sure to check out some of our others, such as the Chronicles of Narnia timeline.

Where to Start?

The best place to begin is with the first, original book: The Golden Compass (or Northern Lights in some countries). However, if you’re looking for an easier entry-way into the universe, consider checking out the television show.

#Get ItNameMediaAuthor/DirectorDateSeriesNotes
1Once Upon a Time in the NorthNovellaPhilip Pullman2008-04-03His Dark Materials
The CollectorsShort StoryPhilip Pullman2014-12-01His Dark Materials
3La Belle SauvageNovelPhilip Pullman2017-10-19His Dark Materials
4The Golden CompassNovelPhilip Pullman1995-07-01His Dark MaterialsAlso known as Northern Lights.
5The Golden CompassFilmChris Weitz2007-12-05His Dark Materials
6The Subtle KnifeNovelPhilip Pullman1997-01-01His Dark Materials
7The Amber SpyglassNovelPhilip Pullman2000-01-01His Dark Materials
8Lyra's OxfordNovelPhilip Pullman2003-10-28His Dark Materials
9The Secret CommonwealthNovelPhilip Pullman2019-10-03His Dark Materials